We are the CUNY LGBTQIA+ Consortium, and we are changing the face of CUNY and NYC. Our mission is not only to preserve LGBTQIA+ history, but to make it!

We facilitate the archiving of LGBTQIA+ history across New York, and we support LGBTQIA+ training, education, and programming.

The CUNY LGBTQIA+ Consortium began in the borough of Queens in 2017, and since that time we have expanded across all 5 boroughs. Currently there are 14 participating campuses, but we are still growing!

If you want to support our efforts, get involved, or inquire about joining the consortium, please email Director Dr. Allie Brashears at jbrashears@lagcc.cuny.edu or Associate Director JC Carlson at JC.Carlson@qc.cuny.edu.

Please click on the SoundCloud file below to hear Allie and JC talk to Tanya Domi of the Graduate Center's Thought Podcast about the Consortium.

Directory of Member Campuses and Contacts

  • Baruch College:
    Dr. Gary L. Dillon, Jr., PhD.
    (646) 312-2158
    gary.dillon@baruch.cuny.edu
  • Bronx Community College:
    Dr. Emily McSpadden
    (718) 289-5100 ext. 3028
    emalinda.mcspadden@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Edwin Roman
    (718) 289-5459
    edwin.roman@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Brooklyn College
    Anthony Brown
    (718) 951-5000 ext. 3350
    Anthony.Brown@brooklyn.cuny.edu
  • Kelly Spivey
    Kelly.Spivey10@brooklyn.cuny.edu
  • City College
    Jake Nill
    (212) 650-6937
    jnill@ccny.cuny.edu
  • Jasmin Salcedo
    (212) 650-6498
    jsalcedo@ccny.cuny.edu
  • College of Staten Island
    Jeremiah Jurkiewicz
    (718) 982-3091
    Jeremiah.Jurkiewicz@csi.cuny.edu
  • CUNY Graduate Center
    Dr. Justin Brown
    (718) 349-4094
    jbrown@lagcc.cuny.edu
  • Elvis Bakaitis
    ebakaitis@gc.cuny.edu
  • Annie Valk
    (212) 817-1969
    avalk@gc.cuny.edu
  • Jaimie Shearn Coan
    jaimeshearncoan@gmail.com
  • CUNY School of Law
    L. Camille Massey
    (718) 340-4172
    camille.massey@law.cuny.edu
  • Arpita Vora
    (718) 340-4295
    arpita.vora@law.cuny.edu
  • Guttman Community College
    Christopher Roth
    (646) 313-8189
    Christopher.Roth@guttman.cuny.edu
  • Yolelda Ira
    (646) 313-8057
    Yolelda.Ira@guttman.cuny.edu
  • Hunter College
    Dr. Erin Mayo-Adam
    (212) 772-5505
    erin.mayo-adam@hunter.cuny.edu
  • Alexis Fisher
    af2441@hunter.cuny.edu
  • John Jay School of Criminal Justice
    Dominique Mendez-Rose
    (212) 237-8739
    domendez@jjay.cuny.edu
  • LaGuardia Community College
    Dr. Allie Brashears
    (347) 306-6521
    jbrashears@lagcc.cuny.edu
  • Nathan Tosh
    (718) 482-5320
    ntosh@lagcc.cuny.edu
  • Deema Bayrakdar
    (718) 482-5179
    dbayrakdar@lagcc.cuny.edu
  • Lehman College
    Matt Frye Castillo
    (718) 960-8556
    Matt.Caprioli@lehman.cuny.edu
  • MX Cooper
    (718) 960-6095
    MX.COOPER@lehman.cuny.edu
  • Queens College
    JC Carlson
    (718) 997-3952
    (917) 659-2646
    jc.carlson@qc.cuny.edu
  • Medgar Evers College
    Christina Chala
    cchala@mec.cuny.edu
  • York College
    Charmaine Townsell
    ctownsell@york.cuny.edu
  • Queensborough Community College
    Jeff Hall
    CHall@qcc.cuny.edu

For more information on LGBTQIA+ initiatives at CUNY visit our friends at the CUNY LGBTQI+ Council and CUNY LGBTQI+ Hub

Upcoming Events